Home Sports Mumbai Indians out of playoffs got revenge on IPL 2018 from Delhi...

Mumbai Indians out of playoffs got revenge on IPL 2018 from Delhi Capitals, know the whole thing

Mumbai Indians out of playoffs got revenge on IPL 2018 from Delhi Capitals, know the whole thing

With the defeat of Delhi Capitals on Saturday in season 15 of the Indian Premier League, the tie-break picture was made clear. Mumbai Indians beat Delhi by 5 wickets and eliminated them from the playoff race. Along with this, MI also took revenge for 2018 from Delhi. Now Gujarat Titans, Rajasthan Royals, Lucknow Supergiants and Royal Challengers Bangalore have confirmed their place in the playoffs. RCB had 16 points while Delhi had 14 points. For Delhi to reach the playoffs, it was necessary to win this match at all costs, but their hopes were dashed by MI.

In the eleventh season of IPL, the Delhi Daredevils defeated the Mumbai Indians by 11 runs. This season Delhi was already out of the playoff race. At the same time, Delhi defeated Mumbai and destroyed their dream of reaching the playoffs. After winning the toss at Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium, Delhi gave a target of 175 runs for the loss of four wickets in 20 overs on the basis of Rishabh Pant’s half-century (64) and Vijay Shankar’s crucial 43 runs.

Suryakumar Yadav (12), who came out to open the innings for Mumbai, went on the hunt for the target and was unable to escape the delivery of Nepal pitcher Sandeep Lamichhane for the second time in the first over and Vijay Shankar in the fourth ball of the second. His hands were trapped near the edge. Mumbai strengthened its position by scoring 57 runs on the power play thanks to the good association of Evan Lewis (48) and Ishan Kishan (5). However, Vijay Shankar caught Kishan, who hit a long shot at Amit Mishra’s ball for the same score, at the border. Kishan and Lewis had added 45 runs.

Following this, Pollard (7) added 17 runs for the third wicket with Lewis and took the team to a score of 74. On this score, Mishra dropped Mumbai’s third wicket by having Lewis catch Pant standing behind the wicket . After this, Pollard also returned to the pavilion in the first ball of the 10 over. Following Pollard’s sacking, captain Rohit Sharma (13) and Krunal Pandya (5) came out to handle the team’s innings. But Krunal also returned to the pavilion after being caught with the ball from Lamichhane on the 79th score. Rohit tried to manage the team here along with Hardik Pandya (27th), but he too could not stay on the pitch for long. Boult also caught it on the ball from Harshal Patel, Rohit and Hardik added 43 runs for the sixth wicket.

After Rohit’s dismissal, the Delhi bowlers also did not allow Hardik to remain on the pitch. Mishra caught it at the hands of Rahul Tewatia and also dropped Mumbai’s seventh wicket. When Hardik came out, the team’s score was 122. Ben Cutting (37), who came to handle the team’s innings with Mayank Markande (3), helped Mumbai reach the goal. Now hosts Mumbai needed 23 runs from 12 balls, but Boult dealt a huge blow to Mumbai’s hopes by sending off Markande with a score of 157.

Mumbai needed 18 runs to get the goal in the final over. Here, Cutting hit a six off Harshal’s ball, but was caught on the next ball. When Cutting was out, the team’s score was 163. On the same scoreline, Harshal ended the team’s innings by catching Jasprit Bumrah at the hands of Boult. In this way, Delhi defeated Mumbai by 11 runs before the playoff race shattered their dream of making the playoffs.

  • Qualifier-1, May 24 (Kolkata): Gujarat Titans vs Rajasthan Royals.
  • Eliminator – May 25 (Kolkata): Lucknow Super Giants vs Royal Challengers Bangalore.
  • Qualifier-2, May 27 (Ahmedabad): Between the winner of the qualifier and the team that lost the first qualifier.
  • Final – May 29 (Ahmedabad): Between the winning team of Qualifier-1 and Qualifier-2.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Exit mobile version