Molenaar triumphs for Burgos and Sosa closes a dream ending for Movistar

The last stage of the Tour of Langkawi, the last road cycling event this season, shared joy between two Spanish teams present at the race. On the one hand Alex Moleenar gave a prestigious victory to Burgos-BH tras sneak into the breakaway and sprint past Jason Osborne. And on the other the team Movistar closed a dream season ending with yet another victory for the team with the general victory of Iván Sosa, who comes out of this race reinforced to face new goals in 2023.

A six-runner breakaway with Hugo Toumire (Cofidis), Jason Osborne (Alpecin-Deceuninck), Anatoliy Budyak (Terengganu), Alex Molenaar (Burgos-BH), Cameron Scott (ARA) and the tireless Thomas de Gendt (Lotto-Soudal) He starred in the first part of the stage and came to have about 2 minutes ahead of the peloton in a breakaway that in the final section of the stage was reduced to three cyclists with the presence of Toumire, Molenaar and Osborne.

A final stretch in which the EF – Education Easypost tried to break the race in favor of Hugh Carthy, just 23 seconds behind Iván Sosa in the general classification. However, the great work of Mathias Norsgaard at the head of the peloton to protect Sosa and Einer Rubio. With Movistar controlling the peloton, Reinardt Janse Van Rensburg was the only brave man who tried to hunt down Molenaar and Osborne’s escape in the final 10 kilometres, although without success, so The Burgos-BH and Alpecin-Deceuninck cyclists played for victory among themselves and, in the sprint, Molenaar was the fastest to give Burgos-BH a prestigious victory while Iván Sosa entered the finish line as the overall winner of a tour of langkawi that lowers the curtain on road cycling for a 2022 season with a dream ending for Movistar that, with the 200 points won by Sosa and 85 by Rubio in general, will close the triennial UCI ranking in eleventh position to surpass the AG2R Citroen.

Read Also:  India Scripts History with Thrilling Knockout Victory, Smashes Multiple Records in T20 World Cup

Classification of the eighth stage of the Tour of Langkawi

1. Alex Molenaar (NED/Burgos-BH) 2:25:37

2. Jason Osborne (ALE/Alpecin-Deceuninck) mt

3. Juan Sebastian Molano (COL/UAE Emirates) at 0:18

4. Erlend Blikra (NOR/One-X) mt

5. Rudiger Selig (ALE/Lotto-Soudal) mt


10. Ricardo Zurita (ESP/Drone Hopper – Androni Giocattoli) mt

Tour of Langkawi Final General Classification

1. Ivan Sosa (COL/Movistar) 25:54:00

2. Hugh Carthy (GBR/EF Education Easypost) at 0:23

3. Torstein Traeen (NOR/One-X) at 1:47

4. George Bennett (NZL/UAE Emirates) at 1:50

5. Einer Rubio (COL / Movistar) at 2:02


8. Ruben Fernandez (ESP/Cofidis) at 2:30

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here