Many records destroyed by Gill’s historic innings created playoff history.

Image source: PTI
Shubman Gill played historic record-breaking innings

In the IPL 2023 Qualifier 2, Shubman Gill crushed the Mumbai Indians’ bowling attack with a searing century. After completing his century on 49 balls, Gill scored 129 off 60 balls. This was the third century for him in this IPL season. Additionally, Gill made history by playing a 129-run century in the playoffs. He became the seventh batsman to score a century in the playoffs. At the same time, he became the third batsman in IPL history to score more than 2 centuries in a single season. He made many such records.

5 Great Records Made In Shubman Gill Innings

  1. Shubman became the third player to score three or more centuries in one season. (Virat Kohli-4, Jose Buttler-4)
  2. Shubman became the youngest player to score a century in the IPL playoffs. (23 years 260 days)
  3. Shubman Gill became the batsman who played the biggest single innings in the IPL playoffs. (129 runs)
  4. This is the second highest score by any Indian batsman in IPL. (KL Rahul 132 not out)
  5. Gill became the player to hit the most sixes in one innings of the IPL playoffs. (10 sixes)

Shubman Gill’s entry into the 800 club

Shubman Gill became the fourth player to score over 800 runs in a single IPL season. Only Virat Kohli, Jos Buttler and David Warner had done this before him. He has now become the third player to score the most runs in a season. He has registered 851 runs in match 16 this season. Jos Buttler (863 runs, 2022) and Virat Kohli (973 runs, 2016) are now ahead in scoring more runs than him in a season. This season it is already almost certain that he will win the Orange Cap. Now let’s look at many other records made by Shubman Gill in this entry:

Read Also:  India on Brink of History: T20 World Cup Win Against Bangladesh to Equal World Record

Indian who played the biggest innings in IPL

  1. KL Rahul – 132 not out vs RCB, 2020
  2. Shubman Gill – 129 vs Mumbai Indians, 2023
  3. Rishabh Pant – 128 not out vs Sunrisers Hyderabad, 2018
  4. Murali Vijay – 127 vs Rajasthan Royals, 2010

Indian with 100+ caps in an IPL season (4s+6s)

  • 122 – Virat Kohli (RCB, 2016)

  • 111 – Shubman Gill (GT, 2023)

  • 108 – Yashasvi Jaiswal (RR, 2023)

  • 105 – Rishabh Pant (DC, 2018)

Highest score in an entry in the IPL playoffs

  • Gujarat Titans – 233/3 vs Mumbai Indians, 2023
  • Punjab Kings – 226/6 vs. Chennai Super Kings, 2014
  • Chennai Super Kings – 222/5 vs. Delhi, 2012

Read this too:-

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here