“Manu” Ginóbili among the finalists for the NBA Hall of Fame

In the first year he was eligible, Argentine Emanuel Ginóbili, winner of four NBA rings, agreed to the group of finalists to enter the Basketball Hall of Fame.

The list of 11 finalists was released this Friday as part of the activities prior to the weekend of the NBA All-Star Game in Cleveland, Ohio.

The new members of the Hall of Fame will be announced on April 2 in the framework of the university basketball finals in New Orleans (Louisiana) while the induction ceremony will be on September 9 in Springfield (Massachusetts).

Ginobili, retired from the courts in 2018, is one step away from being immortalized in the Hall of Fame in the first year that he could be considered for this honor.

To be selected, he will need to receive at least 18 of the 24 votes of the Honors Committee, made up of Hall of Famers, executives, journalists and other experts.

The 44-year-old shooting guard from Bahía Blanca played his entire NBA career for the San Antonio Spurs (2002-2018) with whom he was proclaimed champion in 2003, 2005, 2007 and 2014, forming a memorable trio with Tim Duncan and Tony Parker under coach Gregg Popovich.

11 finalists

‘Manu’, whose number 20 was retired in 2019 by the Spurs, was selected for two All-Star Games (2005 and 2011), won the Best Sixth Man award in 2008 and left the NBA with a total of 14,043 points , 4,001 assists, 3,697 rebounds and 1,392 steals.

He was also the greatest figure of the Golden Generation of Argentine basketball, along with Luis Scola, Frabricio Oberto and Andrés Nocioni, reaching the first Olympic gold in basketball for the country, in the Games of Athens-2004, and a bronze in the Games of Beijing-2008.

Read Also:  NBA Finals: Game 5 Price to Pay for History

Ginobili joins Bill Bradley as the only players to have collected EuroLeague titles (2001), NBA rings and Olympic gold.

Other finalists this year include former NBA players Michael Cooper, a member of the Lakers who were five-time champions in the 1980s; Tim Hardaway, figure of the Warriors and the Heat chosen five times for the All-Star Game, and Marques Johnson, university basketball champion and also a five-time All-Star.

Also on the list are players Swin Cash and Lindsay Whalen, winner of three WNBA titles and two Olympic gold medals.The other finalists for the 2022 Hall of Fame class are coaches George Karl, the NBA’s sixth-winningest coach and 2013 Coach of the Year winner, Bob Huggins, Leta Andrews and Marianne Stanley, as well as referee Hugh Evans.

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here