Los Guerrero, the home run Derby dynasty

The old chip-and-stick adage worked for the Guerrero family in the Home Run Derby of Major League Baseball’s All-Star Game.

It is a good step for the Junior to go, little by little, matching a career that left the Senior in the Cooperstown Hall of Fame.

Vladimir Guerrero Jr. joined Vladimir Guerrero to form the first father-son pairing to win the home run contest before the all-star matchup.

“I’m too young to think about it right now,” the Toronto Blue Jays first baseman told reporters after beating Tampa Bay’s Randy Arozarena 25-23 in the Derby final. “I’ll see if he equaled my dad or I’m better than him or not.”

An All Stars

Guerrero Sr. was a nine-time All-Star, never won the World Series and was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2018. Guerrero Jr. is a three-time All Star who was the game’s MVP two years ago in Denver. Returning to competition for the first time since 2019, Guerrero Jr. defeated Mookie Betts of the Dodgers 26-11 in the first round. He beat local Julio Rodríguez, who had hit 41 in the first round at T-Mobile Stadium in Seattle, 21-20 in the semifinals.

Guerrero Sr., with the Los Angeles Angels, was the winner of the competition in 2007 when it was held at AT&T Park in San Francisco, beating Alex Ríos, of the Blue Jays, 3-2 in the final.

“I don’t remember much from 2007,” Guerrero Jr. said. “I guess I was too young.”

His home run total was 72, ten fewer than Arozarena, but they traveled 29,390 feet. In 2019 he had hit 91, but was beaten in the final by Pete Alonso of the New York Mets, who this time was eliminated in the first round by Rodríguez.

He was also asked who would win in a hypothetical matchup between him and his father.

He had an intelligent answer. “It’s hard. If it is with time, with the clock, I would win. If it is by outs, he would win, ”she replied.

list reaches seven

Now there are seven Dominicans who have won the Derby: Sammy Sosa, in 2000 with the Cubs, at Turner Field (Atlanta), Miguel Tejada with the Orioles in 2004 (Minute Maid Park, Houston), Guerrero Sr., David Ortiz with Boston in 2010 (Angel Stadium, (Anaheim), Robinson Canó with the Yankees in 2011 (Chase Field, Phoenix), Juan Soto with the Nationals last year at Dodger Stadium (Los Angeles) and Guerrero Jr.

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here