Licey completed 10 crowns in the 2000s

The Tigres del Licey completed ten Caribbean Series crowns with the pair they won in the 2000s.

In this way they established the brand in that sense and maintain their dominance in Caribbean baseball.

In 2004, the Licey titled again to complete the nine crowns, when the series was held in Santo Domingo with a 5-1 record, beating Culiacán (4-2), Aragua (3-3) and Ponce (0-6 ).

Francis Beltrán managed three saves and was the Most Valuable Player for the team led by Manny Acta. José Offerman was co-leader in RBIs (5), Mendy López (.353) and Israel Alcántara (.348) moved the wood well, while José Jiménez and Rafael Roque were perfect from the mound.

The Venezuelan cities of Valencia and Maracay, in 2006, witnessed the first victory in 17 years for a team from that country, in this case the Leones de Caracas, who beat the Tigres on the last day of competition to secure the crown .

Venezuela and its Lions remained undefeated (6-0) relegating those led by Rafael Landestoy to second place (4-2). The Gigantes de Carolina (2-4) from Puerto Rico and the Venados de Mazatlán (0-6) from Mexico completed the standings.

Three Dominicans were integrated into the All-Stars: catcher Sandy Martínez, left fielder Napoleón Calzado and right fielder Timoniel Pérez.

runner-up, champion
In 2008, the city of Santiago de los Caballeros was chosen to organize the series this year, when the Tigres, national runners-up, had to assume a position due to the absence of the representative of Puerto Rico who did not have a tournament on that occasion.

Licey completed their tenth crown with a 5-1 record and twice defeating the Águilas Cibaeñas who had beaten them in the final series of the Dominican tournament.

The eaglets continued in the standings with 3-3, while the Tigres de Aragua, from Venezuela, and the Yaquis de Obregón, from Mexico, had 2-4.

Included in the All Stars were manager Héctor de la Cruz, right-handed pitcher and Most Valuable Player, Ramón Ortiz; outfielder Nelson Cruz and catcher Matt Tupman.

In 2009, Licey -directed by José Offerman- arrived in Mexicali as one of the favorites to repeat the Caribbean crown, but could barely win two of the six games played.

The representative of Venezuela, Tigres de Aragua, was proclaimed champion with a 5-1 mark, followed by the Venados de Mazatán with 3-3, while the Dominican Tigres and the Leones de Ponce were last with a 2-4 record.

Only Ronny Paulino, as designated hitter, was chosen to join the All-Star team.


valuable since

the mound

Beltran in 2004.
Relief pitcher Francis Beltrán won the MVP award in the 2004 Caribbean Series. He went 1-0 with three saves. In 4 1/2 innings, he allowed three hits and a walk with six strikeouts.

Ortiz in 2008.
Ramón Ortiz went 2-0 with a perfect 0.00 ERA in two games, one as a starter. In 11.2 innings he gave up 7 hits with three walks and five strikeouts.

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here