Leicester’s 7 confirmed departures after relegation to Championship

He Leicester City has started its new project in the Championship after a very disappointing season that ended with its relegation on the last day of the Premier League. The club has officially announced the departure of seven players whose contracts expire this June and will not be renewed.

Youri Tielemans, Çalar Söyüncü, Daniel Amartey, Ayoze Pérez (loaned at Betis), Nampalys Mendy, Tetê and Ryan Bertrand They are the players who will leave the team. Leicester City issued a statement confirming these departures and thanking the players for their contribution to the club.



Leicester’s 7 confirmed departures after relegation to Championship

The club is still in talks with captain Jonny Evans to extend his contract. Another player who will continue in the team is Hamza Choudhury, who recently extended his contract until June 2024.

One of the prominent names among the departures is that of Youri Tielemans. The Belgian international will leave Leicester City after five seasons in which he made 195 appearances and scored 28 goals. Tielemans joined the club in 2019 on loan from Monaco and became a key figure, even wearing the captain’s armband on several occasions.

Leicester fans will no doubt remember his goal in the 2021 FA Cup final against Chelsea, which clinched the club’s title at Wembley and ended a 137-year wait to win that prestigious tournament.

Leicester City now faces a new challenge in the Championship, where they will seek to recover and return to the top flight as soon as possible. With these seven confirmed departures, the club will have to rebuild its squad and look for new additions to face next season in the English second division.

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here