India Whisk Away South Africa in First ODI, Mandhana’s Ton Propels Win

IND W vs SA W: An ODI series is being organized between the women’s teams of India and South Africa. The Indian women’s cricket team clashed with South Africa in the first ODI match in Bengaluru on Sunday, June 16. The Indian women’s team won this match by 143 runs. With the victory in this match, Team India has moved ahead 1-0 in this series. India’s star batsman Smriti Mandhana and top all-rounder Deepti Sharma played the most important role in Team India’s victory. Apart from this, Asha Shobhana, who is making her ODI debut in this match, also bowled brilliantly.

How was the match

In the match against South Africa, Smriti Mandhana scored a brilliant century and Deepti Sharma shone with both bat and ball as India took a 1-0 lead in the three-match series at home. Mandhana ended her international century drought after two years by scoring 117 runs off 127 balls and India posted a challenging 265/8 after being put in to bat first. Debutant spinner Asha Shobhana took four wickets and Deepti took two for ten as they set South Africa Women a target of 266 for victory.

South Africa lose in run chase

Chasing India’s target of 266 runs, South Africa were all out for 122 runs in 37.4 overs. This victory also became India’s second biggest victory by run margin and the biggest victory on home soil. After winning the toss, India gave leg-spinner Asha Shobhana a chance to play her first ODI match, who took four wickets for just 21 runs. Smriti Mandhana was also named Player of the Match for her brilliant batting and century in this match.

Read Also:  A Retrospective Review of the 22 Medals Achieved by the Team at Barcelona 1992 and the Factors Contributing to Their Current State of Success

Playing 11 of both teams

South Africa Women’s Playing XI: Laura Wolvaardt (captain), Tazmin Brits, Anneke Bosch, Sune Luus, Marizanne Kapp, Anneri Dirksen, Nondumiso Shangase, Sinalo Jafta (wicketkeeper), Masabata Klaas, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Ayabonga Khaka.

India Women Playing XI: Smriti Mandhana, Shefali Verma, Harmanpreet Kaur (captain), Dayalan Hemalatha, Jemimah Rodrigues, Richa Ghosh (wicketkeeper), Deepti Sharma, Pooja Vastrakar, Radha Yadav, Asha Shobhana, Renuka Thakur Singh.

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here