India has always been in the U-19 World Cup, the statistics are bearing witness

The Indian team has reached the final again after defeating Australia in the semifinal match of the U-19 World Cup. This will be India’s fourth consecutive U-19 World Cup final. The Indian team is the first team to have reached the final of four consecutive World Cups. With this, the Indian team also holds the record for winning this tournament for the most number of times. The youth of India have won this trophy four times.

The organization of the ICC Under-19 World Cup began 24 years ago. The first U-19 World Cup was held in South Africa in the year 1997-98. It was won by the England youth team. Since then, 12 U-19 World Cups have been held. In these 4 times the Indian team has been the winner. After India, teams from Pakistan and Australia have won this tournament 2 or 2 times. Teams from the West Indies, South Africa and Bangladesh have also won this tournament once each. To date, this trophy has not been shared by legendary teams like Sri Lanka and New Zealand.

The Indian team has had a one-sided dominance in this trophy for the past decade. In the year 2012, Team India became the U-19 champion. After this, except for the 2014 World Cup, the youth of India have reached the final of this tournament every time. In the year 2016, the Indian team had to face defeat at the hands of West Indies in the final. At the same time, in 2018, India became the winner of the U-19 World Cup for the fourth time. After this, in the year 2020 too, India had entered the final, although they had to face a surprise defeat at the hands of Bangladesh.

Read Also:  India to Face Sri Lanka in July-August Series: Dates, Schedule, and Timings Revealed

The Indian team is now preparing to become the winner of the U-19 World Cup for the fifth time. They face England in the final. Both teams have not lost a single match in this tournament so far. In such a situation, there is a possibility of fierce competition in this final match. However, looking at Team India’s strong record in the tournament over the past 24 years, becoming champions for the fifth time is clearly visible.

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here