IND-W vs SL-W 1st T20: Indian women’s team won Dambulla T20, beat Sri Lanka by 34 runs

IND-W vs SL-W 1st T20: Indian women's team won Dambulla T20, beat Sri Lanka by 34 runs

The Indian women’s cricket team has won the T20 match held in Dambulla. Here the Indian team defeated Sri Lanka by 34 runs. Batting first, the Indian team was able to score only 138 runs from 20 overs, but despite this, they managed to turn the match in their favour. The Indian bowlers gave the Sri Lankan batsmen no chances to open their hands as they performed brilliantly. The Sri Lankan women’s team was only able to score 104 runs in the allotted overs. Jemima Rodriguez from India was the ‘Player of the Match’.

The Indian team won the toss and chose to bat first. The start was poor and India lost two wickets for 17 runs. Smriti Mandhana (1) and Sabbhinaini Meghna (0) returned to the pavilion cheaply. Following this, captain Harmanpreet Kaur (22) gave starter Shafali Verma (31) a good support and got the team over the 50 mark. Following this, Jemima Rodriguez, playing an unbeaten 36-run inning of 27 balls, led the Indian team to over a hundred and fifty. In this way, the Indian team scored 138 runs in 20 overs for the loss of 6 wickets.

Chasing the target of 139 runs, the Indian bowlers kept the Sri Lankan team under pressure from the start and kept taking wickets at regular intervals. By the time 54 runs came, the Sri Lankan team had lost all 4 of their wickets. Kavisha Dilhari’s undefeated 47-run slam helped the Lankan team cross the 100-run mark somewhat. Until the stipulated end, the Sri Lankan team could only score 104 runs for the loss of 5 wickets. For the Indian team, Radha Yadav took 2 and Deepti Sharma, Pooja Vastrakar and Shafali Verma took 1-1 wickets.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here