Geoghegan Hart, champion from start to finish and Buitrago finishes eighth

Joy for the EF Education EasyPost and the Ineos Grenadiers on the last day of the Tour of the Alps 2023, Well, for the first team there was one-two with Simon Carr and Georg Steinhauser in the final stage, while the British squad took care of Tao Geoghegan Hart to keep the title. Santiago Buitrago was the best Colombian climbing one position in the general.

Massive escape on the last day of competition, which had a 144.5-kilometer route with two categorized ascents, but a flat finish. More than 20 cyclists made up the breakaway of the day, which began to disintegrate with the climb to Mühlbach/Riomolino, last second-category mountain pass located a little less than 20 kilometers from the finish line.

Attacks on the break and in the peloton

On that ascent, Carr attacked among the breakaways to go solo at the head of the race, while other breakaway cyclists began to suffer. The group of favorites was four minutes away and The person in charge of moving things was Iván Ramiro Sosa, who opened a hole, but was caught on the descent.

Carr kept up the pace downhill and on flat terrain to reach the finish line comfortably and stay with the last stage, which had one-two for EF Education EasyPost, because in the fight for second place, 53 seconds behind, Georg Steinhauser prevailed.

The group of favorites, in which Ineos Grenadiers knew how to take care of the leader, crossed at 4 minutes and 28 seconds with Santiago Buitrago and Iván Ramiro Sosa on board. Title for Geoghegan Hart and eighth place for the Colombian from Bahrain-Victorious, who moved up one position in this final stage, which Camilo Andrés Gómez (Trinity Racing) and Jhojan García (Caja Rural) did not finish.

Read Also:  Bobby Deol and Preity Zinta to Reunite in Soldier 2? Ramesh Taurani Confirms 2024 Shoot Start

Final general classification of the Tour of the Alps

1.Tao Geoghegan HartIneos Grenadiers7:29 p.m. 50”
2.Hugh CarthyEF Education EasyPost+22′’
3.Jack HaigBahrain-Victorious+28′’
8.Santiago BuitragoBahrain-Victorious+58′’
18.Ivan Ramiro SosaMovistar Team+4′00′’
71.Hugo RodriguezTrinity Racing1h09′07′’

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here