Formula 1: Verstappen and Pérez achieved the 1-2 of Red Bull in the Azerbaijan GP

the dutch Max Verstappen (Red Bull) won this Sunday at the Azerbaijan Grand Prix and extended his leadership in Formula 1 against the abandonment of Monegasque Charles Leclerc (Ferrari), who lost second place in the Drivers’ World Championship at the hands of Mexican Sergio “Checo” Pérezfirst shooting guard on the eighth date of the season.

The Austrian team had a perfect day on the Baku street circuitwhere he took a distance of 80 points in the Constructors’ Cup with respect to Ferrari, who could not complete the race with any of their drivers.

The Spanish Carlos Sainz Jr. defected on lap 8 due to brake problems and Leclerc did so on lap 21 due to loss of car power with which he had achieved pole position on Saturday.

The Monegasque suffered the first setback at the very beginning of the test when “Checo” Pérez snatched the first place from him, later occupied by the current champion Verstappen, who signed his fifth victory of the year with a solid ride.

The The Dutchman accumulated 150 points in the general classification of the season and consolidated his leadership with 21 points ahead of Pérez, who displaced Leclerc (116) to the third position. The Mexican, who had just won the Monaco Grand Prix, took an extra point this Sunday for setting the lap record on the Azerbaijan street track (1:46.046).

Red Bull chained the fifth win in a row of the year and the third of 5 editions in Bakuplace where he had crowned with the Australian Daniel Ricciardo (2017) and “Checo” Pérez, last season.

Read Also:  Without his brother's sacrifice, Sachin wouldn't have been the god of cricket? Know the history of the fight

The Mercedes of the British George Russell and Lewis Hamilton completed a good race as they placed third and fourth, respectively. Hamilton managed to climb several places since he had started from eighth place, which shows a significant recovery compared to previous competitions.

The last six scoring places in the Azerbaijan GP were occupied by the Frenchman Pierre Gasly (AlphaTauri), the German Sebastian Vettel (Aston Martin), the Spanish Fernando Alonso (Alpine Renault), Ricciardo (McLaren), the British Lando Norris (McLaren) and Frenchman Esteban Ocon (Alpine).

Further back came the Finnish Valtteri Bottas (Alfa Romeo), the Thai Alexander Albon (Williams), the Japanese Yuki Tsunoda (AlphaTauri), the German Mick Schumacher (Haas) and the Canadian Nicholas Latifi (Williams).

The Canadian Lance Stroll (Aston Martin), the Danish Kevin Magnussen (Haas) and the Chinese Zhou Guanyu (Alfa Romeo) completed the list of retirements that the Ferrari drivers started.

The next F1 race will be on Sunday the 19th at the Gilles Villeneuve circuit in the city of Montreal, home of the Canadian Grand Prix. The last race there, held in 2019, was won by Hamilton with Mercedes.

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here