Fitzpatrick defends title in Valderrama

The Englishman Matt Fitzpatrick will try to defend from tomorrow until Sunday, at the Real Club Valderrama, in the municipality of San Roque (Cádiz), the title won in the last edition of the Estrella Damm NA Andalucía Masters, a tournament of the ‘DP World Tour ‘ (before, European Golf Circuit) valid for the Race to Dubai. Fitzpatrick arrives with the purpose of revalidating the success of last year, when he recovered from a three-shot deficit on the historic course of the Sotogrande urbanization and finished the tournament with a brilliant round of 69 hits without ‘bogeys’ to take seventh place in his eight DP World Tour titles.

The Canarian Rafael Cabrera Bello, for his part, will seek his first title at the emblematic Real Club Valderrama as the main Spanish contender and hopes to do so on the twenty-fifth anniversary of the Ryder Cup being held at the San Roque field. Cabrera won the Spanish Open in 2021, in which the Basque Jon Rahm succeeded him last week, who is one of the absentees this year in Valderrama, where he was last and was second in 2019, the year of victory of the South African Christian Bezuidenhout.

Among the rest of the outstanding players registered for this edition, are the Danish twins Nicolai and Rasmus Hjgaard, who have already accumulated five wins on the DP World Tour, and among the Spanish Alejandro Cañizares, who already has four hundred tournaments on this circuit. The Scotsman Robert MacIntyre won the title of the DS Automobiles Italian Open and a week later the Italian Guido Migliozzi triumphed at the Cazoo Open de France, with other players present in Valderrama.

Read Also:  Debutants Take Center Stage as India Wins with Ricky Ponting-Like Captaining Efforts from Prithvi Shaw, Shivam Dube, and Rajat Patidar

The Sotogrande tournament will feature other DP World Tour 2022 winners such as Adrian Meronk, who made history by becoming the first Polish golfer to win on the circuit, as well as international stars such as New Zealander Ryan Fox, Chinese Ashun Wu and double winners Thriston Lawrence of South Africa and Ewen Ferguson of Scotland. The Andalusian competition will also include winners of Rolex Series tournaments such as the Australian Min Woo Lee, the South African Brandon Stone and the Danish Thorbjrn Olesen, who is also a Ryder Cup player and who won his sixth title on the DP World Tour this year. at the Betfred British Masters.

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here