THE Facebook will disable its podcast service as well as other audio services and products by the end of the month. Notably, the end date for its podcast service has been set for June 3, with other features shutting down by then.

This platform, nearly a year old, has failed to attract enough users and content creators to justify its maintenance by Mark Zuckerberg’s company. At the same time, the company will also disable its Soundbits and audio center over the course of the next few weeks.

There are several features that will be discontinued by Facebook

Facebook is shutting down its podcast service, discontinuing other audio products for @aiishamalik1

— TechCrunch (@TechCrunch) May 5, 2022

In addition to dedicated features for podcasts and clubhouse-type chat rooms, Facebook will also disable features Close friends, weather warnings, location history Y facebook background location. All these elements will be discontinued very soon by North American technology.

The news was advanced for the first time by the publication TechCrunch, confirmed by the social network itself. The publication states that the technology has already informed the content products of its intention to close the podcast platform at the end of the month.

We remind you that it was in April 2021 when Facebook announced its doubled commitment in the audio segment, in particular in podcasts. At the same time, he also announced support for a rival to Clubhouse, then one of the biggest online phenomena.

Betting on the audio segment is one of the main objectives of Facebook

This “adventure” of Facebook in the audio segment was bold and framed in a conjecture in which, for example, the Club House was valued at 4 billion dollars. At the same time, both Apple and Spotify dominated the audio market, but from then on the market would show a general decline in the popularity of Clubhouse and its format.

As for Location History, users will be able to access and download the data until August 1, 2022. To do so, simply enter the “Access your information” menu. After that date, any information the user has previously shared will be deleted.

Otherwise, Facebook will continue to collect information about the location of users in other places and services of its platform, something constant in its data policy.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here