EU sanctions five Malian officials including Prime Minister

The European Union on Friday sanctioned five Malian officials, including the transitional Prime Minister Choguel Kokalla Maïga, accused of obstructing the political transition in this country led by a junta, according to a press release.

These sanctions consist of a ban on entry into EU territory and a freezing of their assets. EU individuals and entities will also be prohibited from making funds available to these five officials.

Actors of the coup

In addition to the Prime Minister, among the sanctioned officials are two “key members of the inner circle” of Colonel Assimi Goïta, the head of the Malian junta, invested transitional president in May 2021 after a second putsch.

They are Malick Diaw and Ismaël Wagué, considered to be instigators of the August 2020 coup, during which the military overthrew President Ibrahim Boubacar Keïta, according to the reasons for the sanctions published in the Official Journal of the EU.

Refusal to hold new elections

In addition, Ibrahim Ikassa Maïga, Minister of Refoundation since June 2021, and Adama Ben Diarra, are also targeted for having played a key role in the overthrow of President Keita, according to the same source.

These five officials have already been sanctioned by the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS). On January 9, the organization took a battery of vigorous economic and diplomatic measures against Mali to sanction the junta’s intention to remain in power for several more years and its refusal to organize February 27, as it initially committed to it, with elections bringing civilians back to power.

Read Also:  The Birth of Silverio: A New White Rhino in South America

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here