Cricket World Cup 2023: These two big teams may miss out on direct entry

The 2023 Cricket World Cup will be hosted in India next year. 10 teams will participate in this. 8 of these 10 teams will be decided by the World Cup Super League points table, while the other two teams will participate with the help of the World Cup qualifying round. Being the host of the Indian team, he already has his place confirmed for the World Cup.

England is at the top of the Cricket World Cup Super League. Along with England, Pakistan, New Zealand, the West Indies and Australia are also present in the top 8 in this points table. Bangladesh and Afghanistan are also currently bidding for direct entry into the 2023 World Cup. Here, two big teams, Sri Lanka and South Africa, are outside the top-8. In such a situation, both teams may miss out on direct entry to the World Cup. They may have to play qualifying rounds.

New Zealand109190
West Indies2291390
Indian (Q)139489
Sri Lanka186eleven62
South Africa134749

13 teams have been placed in the World Cup Super League. Some bilateral series played between these 13 teams from 2020 to 2023 are part of the World Cup Super League. Points are awarded in the World Cup Super League based on the teams’ performance in the matches played in these series. 10 points are awarded to the winning team, zero points to the losing team, and 5-5 points to both teams in tie/draw/no contests. Here the top 8 teams will directly enter the World Cup 2023. The rest of the teams will have to play qualifying matches with the other 5 associated teams. In other words, there will be qualifying matches between a total of 10 teams and 2 of these teams will reach the 2023 World Cup.

Read Also:  Empowering Women in Cycling: Encouraging Female Participation

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here