Copa Libertadores: The path of the six Argentine teams

Boca and River will be seeded in the draw for the group stage of the Copa Libertadores de América 2022 that will take place this Friday and that will also include the participation of Estudiantes, Vélez, Colón and Talleres. The event will take place at the Conmebol headquarters in the Paraguayan city of Luque, starting at 12:00 in Argentina and will be broadcast on ESPN.

Argentina will have six representatives in the competition who will try to break the dominance of Brazil, which in addition to having eight teams has won the last three editions. Palmeiras, current two-time champion, and Flamengo (2019) kept the last three trophies and lead the list of the eight seeded teams that the draw will have.

Boca, River, Nacional, Peñarol, Atlético Mineiro (directed by Antonio Mohamed) and Athletico Paranaense, winner of the last Copa Sudamericana, will complete the number 1 slot reserved for the top seeds.

In pot 2 will be Vélez, who will debut in the competition with a new coach after the departure of Mauricio Pellegrino, along with Corinthians (Brazil), Cerro Porteño and Libertad (Paraguay), Independiente del Valle and Emelec (Ecuador) and Colo Colo and Universidad Catholic (Chile).

Bolillero 3 will have the presence of Colón de Santa Fe, who will return to play the most important tournament in South America after 12 years. Along with the “Sabalero” will be Sporting Cristal and Alianza Lima (Peru), Deportivo Cali and Deportes Tolima (Colombia), Red Bull Bragantino (Brazil), Deportivo Táchira and Caracas (Venezuela).

Finally, in pot 4, there will be two Argentine representatives: Talleres, who will also start the tournament with a new coach, and Estudiantes de La Plata, one of the four classified from the three previous phases (repechage). Olimpia (Paraguay), The Strongest, Always Ready and Independiente Petrolero (Bolivia), América Mineiro and Fortaleza (Brazil) complete the last bolillero. In total, there will be eight teams from Brazil, six from Argentina, three from Bolivia and Paraguay and two from Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela.

Read Also:  Uncertainty Surrounding Rafa Mir's Future at Valencia CF

The first date will be played in the week of Tuesday, April 5 and the group stage will last until May 24. The top two from each of the eight groups will qualify for the round of 16 set for the end of June. After 16 years, the knockout series will be played without the away goal rule as the tiebreaker.

The quarterfinals will be in the first two weeks of August and the semifinals in the second fortnight of the same month. The final will be played on October 29 at the Monumental stadium in Guayaquil, the home of Ecuadorian Barcelona, ​​which has a capacity of almost 60,000 spectators. This will be the fourth definition in a single venue after those held in Lima, Rio de Janeiro and Montevideo.

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here