Copa América draw today: format, schedule and tournament pots

The Copa América 2024 begins this morning Spanish time with the draw of an always exciting edition that in this edition brings together the teams of CONMEBOL, South America, with those of CONCACAF, Central and North America.

The ten “classic” South American teams will take part in next year’s edition: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, Paraguay, Venezuela and Uruguay.

CONCACAF’s top six teams will also take part. There are already four classified countries: the United States, Jamaica, Mexico and Panama. The other two come from the playoffs in between Costa Rica and Honduras on the one hand and Canada or Trinidad and Tobago on the other hand, in a single game round.

This is how the participating countries were distributed among the different lottery pots:

Pot 1: Argentina, Brazil, USA and Mexico.

Pot 2: Chile, Venezuela, Panama and Paraguay.

Pot 3: Uruguay, Colombia, Ecuador and Peru.

Pot 4: Jamaica, Bolivia, Honduras or Costa Rica, Canada or Trinidad and Tobago.

The draw, as it happens in the Champions League, for example, is subject to various conditions. Thus, no group may have more than three CONMEBOL teams or more than two CONCACAF teams.

Argentina, current winners of the Copa América for the title in 2021, will be seeded in Group A, while Mexico, current winners of the 2023 Gold Cup, will be seeded in Group B.

The United States, as the CONCACAF team with the best FIFA ranking, is the seeded team in Group C. The seeded team in Group D is the South American team with the best FIFA ranking. Since it is currently Argentina, it will cede this privilege to Brazil.

Read Also:  The world star who was offered to FC Barcelona for the summer

The 2024 Copa América will be played entirely in the United States. The opening game will be played on June 20, 2024 at Mercedes Benz Stadium in Atlanta and will have Leo Messi’s Argentina national team as protagonists. Today, after the draw, your rival will be known.

The grand final, scheduled for July 14, will be played at the Hard Rock Stadium in Miami.

It is estimated that Today’s ceremony in Miami begins at 7:30 p.m. Eastern Time in the United States (1:30 a.m. local time in Peninsular Spain).

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here