Club World Cup: it will be played every four years and there will be an annual final

He The Club World Cup will begin to be played every four years from 2025 but also there will be an annual final between the European champion and the winner of a tie between the other five confederations. FIFA informed the new competition format after Council meeting held in Rwanda.

The new Club World Cup will be played every four years with the participation of 32 teams. In principle, the teams will be 12 from Europe, six from Conmebol, four from Concacaf, four from Africa, four from Asia and one from Oceania plus another place for a club from the host country..

This year the Club World Cup will have the same format with the six champions from each continent plus one from Saudi Arabiaorganizing country.

From In 2024 there will also be an annual final at a neutral venue between the winner of the European Champions League and the team that wins a tie between the rest of the confederations..

This means that the winning clubs of the Copa Libertadores de América will no longer have the “liberated” path to an eventual final against the European team.

Details about timing and format will be released in due course.“, clarified FIFA in the statement.

The idea of The “super” Club World Cup had already been announced by the head of FIFA, Gianni Infantino, at the end of 2022 but this Tuesday it was approved by the Bureau.

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here