Chelsea: N’Golo Kanté voted best European player of the year?

Will N’Golo Kanté succeed Robert Lewandowski? Winner of the Champions League with Chelsea last May, the French midfielder was named this Thursday for the title of European player of the year with his Italian teammate Jorginho and the Belgian Manchester City Kevin de Bruyne.

N’Golo Kanté could become the second French to be awarded this prize by UEFA after Franck Ribéry in 2013. The French international was one of the main architects of the Blues’ coronation. He was notably named man of the match in the semi-final home and away, but also in the final won against Manchester City (0-1).

But the course of the Blues at the Euro, with an elimination from the round of 16 against Switzerland, and its less convincing performances do not plead in its favor. Unlike Jorginho crowned with Italy a few weeks later and who promises to be the favorite ahead of Kevin de Bruyne, English champion with the Citizens and finalist in the Champions League. The winner will be presented with his prize on August 26 on the sidelines of the Champions League group stage draw ceremony in Istanbul (Turkey).

The prize for the best player will meanwhile be awarded to a Barcelona winner of the Champions League, as Jennifer Hermoso, Lieke Martens and Alexia Putellas are all nominated for this distinction. For the best coach trophy, Thomas Tuchel (Chelsea), Roberto Mancini (Italy coach) and Pep Guardiola (Manchester City) were selected.

Read Also:  Ecuador Floods: 7 Dead, 30 Missing

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here