Cañeros are champions in Mexico again after 20 years

Los Cañeros de Los Mochis broke a 20-year spell without being crowned in the Mexican Pacific League, by whitewashing the Algodoneros de Guasave 5-0 on Saturday to win the Best of Seven Final Series 4-2.

Nick Struck made a brilliant start in the most important game of the season, and the Cañeros won their fourth title in their history and their first since the 2002-2003 season.

They also won the right to represent Mexico in the 2023 Caribbean Series that will be held in Caracas, from February 2 to 10.

Struck was the great figure of the match, and scored the win after launching seven brilliant scoreless innings of just one hit. He gave away two walks and decorated his work with six fans.

Fabian Cota pitched the last two scoreless innings to end the match.

The loss went to Jeff Kinley’s record, rocked with five runs and eight hits in 4 1/3 innings.

Cuban Yasmany Tomás found the bases loaded and responded with a three-run double in the third inning to open the scoring. Rodolfo Amador’s sacrifice fly and Fernando Villegas’ RBI single, both in the fifth, clinched the win and the title.

Los Algodoneros de Guasave sought to break a 51-year drought without winning a Mexican Pacific League Championship, their only consecration was in the 1971-1972 season.

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here