Bayeux War Correspondents Prize: a look back at the history of an award that highlights the great reporters

The 28th edition of the Bayeux War Correspondents Prize took place on Saturday 9 October. An award created in 1994, in the wake of the siege of Sarajevo, capital of Bosnia-Herzegovina.

The Bayeux War Correspondents Prize rewards in several categories major reporters, journalists who exercise their profession in perilous conditions. The winners are named in Bayeux, the first French city to be liberated following the landing of June 7, 1944. The 28th edition took place on Saturday, October 9. The award was established in 1994, the year of the siege of Sarajevo, the capital of Bosnia and Herzegovina, bombed in a war between Serbian Orthodox nationalists, Muslim Bosnians and Catholic Croats. Allan Little of the BBC had been honored.

In 1998, the Ouest-France prize, one of the categories, was awarded to Liberation journalist Jean Hatzfeld for his article on children who survived the genocide in Rwanda. Between April 6 and July 4, 1994, 800,000 Rwandans were massacred, mainly Tutsis. In 2010, the Taliban, not yet in power, had as a target the education of children and teachers were assassinated. The Bayeux Prize was won that year by Gilles Jacquier, killed on the ground, in Syria, in 2012, at the age of 43.

Read Also:  BNP-Jamaat took possession of the artists' association?

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here