Babar Azam will take on the giants, Imran Khan number 1

Image Credit: GETTY
Babar Azam

Babar Azam ODI World Championship 2023: The ODI World Cup 2023 is approaching. The schedule has been published by the ICC, but there is a possibility of some changes. This work will also be completed by next week. After that, the announcement of the teams will begin shortly. After many years, teams of India and Pakistan will compete in India. Another thing is that the government of Pakistan has not yet given permission to send the team to India, but it is understood that the PCB will send its team to India for the World Cup since it is an ICC tournament. In such a situation, all eyes will be on Pakistan’s performance. The Pakistan team has not yet been announced, however, it is expected that Babar Azam will lead the Pakistan team. If that happens, Babar Azam will be the equal of many captains in Pakistan. Even though former Pakistan cricket team captain and former Prime Minister Imran Khan is way ahead of him, it won’t be easy to outperform him at the moment.

Asif Iqbal captained the Pakistan team at the first and second World Cups.

In fact, the first ODI World Championship was held in 1975 when Asif Iqbal was captain of the Pakistan team. Asif Iqbal led the Pakistani team to two consecutive World Cups. After that, Imran Khan was given the responsibility as captain. Imran Sal first captained the World Cup in 1983, after which he continued to captain the Pakistan team until two more World Cups, namely in 1987 and 1992. Under his captaincy, Pakistan won the world title for the first time in 1992. However, he was unable to become captain at the World Cup that followed because he had resigned. Wasim Akram took command of the Pakistan team in 1996 and then at the 1999 World Cup. That said, he also captained the World Cup twice in a row. But since then, not once has a Pakistani captain led his team at two consecutive World Cups.

Read Also:  James Deane Takes Home Win at Drift Masters Ireland

Since 2003, the captain of the Pakistan team at the World Cup has changed every time.

Waqar Younis captained the Pakistan team at the 2003 World Cup, after that Inzamam-ul-Haq took over as captain in 2007 and Shahid Afridi captained the Pakistan team at the 2011 World Cup. In 2015, Misbah-ul-Haq and in 2019 the responsibility of the captain was in the hands of Sarfaraz Ahmed. Now, if Babar Azam remains the captain of the Pakistan team, this time the new captain will also come from Pakistan at the World Cup. Although previously in command of his team in the T20 World Cup, Babar Azam will be making his debut as a captain in the ODI World Cup. In such a situation, all eyes will be on how he plays himself and how the team performs.

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here