Audo Vicente, LIDOM Manager of the Year; Emilio Bonifacio, Knight of the Year

Audo Vicente, from the Tigres del Licey, won this Wednesday the Manager of the Year award for the 2022-23 championship, a distinction granted by the Dominican Republic Professional Baseball League (LIDOM) through its official award, MVP of the Week Santo Domingo Motors, which also chose high school captain Emilio Bonifacio as the Knight of the Year.

Through a press release, LIDOM reported that Vicente was selected with 39 votes from a 69-member jury made up of sports communicators from all over the country.

Second place went to the general manager of the Águilas Cibaeñas, Ángel Ovalles, who obtained 22 votes, and third place went to Jesús Mejía, from the Gigantes del Cibao, who appeared on seven ballots. Félix Peguero, from the Eastern Stars, got a vote.

In his first season as general manager of the Tigers, Vicente orchestrated a squad that was able to own the regular series with a 34-16 record, a record that allowed the team to tie the record for victories for a 50-game season.

This is a notable difference from last season of 40 games in which the Tigers finished in the third position of the “standing” with a record of 21-19.

chivalrous captain
On his side, Bonifacio, captain of the Tigres del Licey, turned out to be the winner of an award that LIDOM premieres this season.

Six players from each of the six franchises selected the most gentlemanly player, that player who best displays the spirit of camaraderie, respect for the game and respect for the rival.

None of the 36 polled by the league could vote for a member of their own team. Bonifacio received six votes, three of them coming from players from the Eastern Stars, two from the Leones del Escogido and one from the Eastern Bulls.

Read Also:  Jordi Fernández makes his first decision with the Brooklyn Nets

Veteran Bulls pitcher Raúl Valdés, versatile All-Star outfielder Junior Lake and Giants infielder Hanser Alberto each got four ballots, while Giants import Henry Urrutia, fine-hitting de los Toros, Yamaico Navarro, and Aneury Tavárez, de las Águilas, were left with three ballots per head.

Carlos Peguero, of the Giants, and Melky Cabrera, of the Eagles, received two votes per capita.

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here