ASIAN CUP 2022, Super-4: Pakistan back in front, how will India’s aspirations be met with these shortcomings?

IND vs PAK ASIA CUP 2022, Super-4- India TV Hindi News
Image Source: India TV
IND vs PAK CUP ASIA 2022, Super-4


  • India and Pakistan will compete in Super-4 on September 4
  • Last chance for Indian starter KL Rahul
  • Avesh Khan looted runs in the last two matches

IND vs PAK CUP ASIA 2022, Super-4: After defeating Pakistan by 5 wickets in their first match of the 2022 Asian Cup, the India team will now also play the arch-rival team in Super-4. In this second round match as well, the Indian team would like to start with a win. If India wants to record a win against arch-rivals Pakistan like the previous match in the Super-4, then their top order will have to perform well.

Along with this, the Team India fast bowlers will also have to fulfill their responsibility well. If the performance of India’s top batsmen is an issue on the power play, then the death of inexperienced bowling Avesh Khan is also a matter of concern for the team’s management. In such a situation, India sees the need to make changes to their bowling attack as they face Pakistan who beat Hong Kong by over 150 runs in the last match.

We will miss Ravindra Jadeja!

India will also miss Ravindra Jadeja, who has been ruled out of the tournament due to injury. Axar Patel has been included in the team in his place. In the previous match against Pakistan, head coach Rahul Dravid had sent Jadeja to bat at number four to create a combination of righties and lefties, as Rishabh Pant went out in that match. It will be interesting to see if skipper Rohit Sharma and Dravid play the same bet on Sunday. But it wouldn’t be an exaggeration to say that if a southpaw is to be included in the top six hitters, then only Pant seems right for him.

Last Sunday it was Hardik Pandya whose all-round performance helped India record a thrilling win in the last over and Rohit would also expect the same performance from his other players in this match. For the Indian team, however, the defensiveness of the top hitters on the power play can become a problem. In the last match against Pakistan, neither Virat Kohli nor Rohit Sharma could play comfortably. His problem got worse as the launch slowed down.

Read Also:  Spain Sets Record for Olympic Team Sports Participation: Olympic Games Record Broken

All eyes will be on KL Rahul!

Even against a weak team like Hong Kong, the Indian leader batted slowly and it was Suryakumar Yadav’s best innings that helped the team to big scores. The slow game of the Indian top order can be gauged from this, KL Rahul scored 36 runs on 39 balls which is the slowest inning from him so far. He became the victim of a golden duck against Pakistan. The question then arises as to whether India will need to make changes to add aggression to their main order, as it is clear that the combination of Rahul, Rohit and Kohli is not working. You may get another chance, but you’ll have to change your attitude.

Pakistan batsmen also need to score more runs in the first 10 overs. Mohammad Rizwan and Babar Azam have been very successful in the chase, but when it comes to batting first, the pair have not been very successful. Apart from this, the Dubai course is playing slow which can create problems for batsmen.

Avesh Khan expressed his concern

Another question mark against India is whether both Avesh Khan and Arshdeep Singh will find a place in the playing XI. Avesh Khan has proven costly in both matches so far. When India has the option to pick a player who can bowl economically at Axar Patel, then Deepak Hooda can try himself as the batting all-rounder or Ravichandran Ashwin as the bowling all-rounder. Two of the six batsmen in the top order for Pakistan are left-handers Fakhar Zaman and Khushdil Shah. So having a spinner along with Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Hardik can be a good combination.

Squads of both teams

India: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Deepak Hooda, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, R Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan.

Pakistan: Babar Azam (Captain), Shadab Khan, Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Naseem Shah, Shahnawaz Dahani, Usman Qadir, Mohammad Hasnain, Hasan Ali.

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here